Roast that Cauliflower!

This cauliflower turned out way better then the picture did… thanks iPhone focus.

Fall foods are in full swing here at The Happy Food Dance! I took a solo tour around Pike Place Market the other day and arranged all my treasures neatly so I could remember how they started out. And Instagram it of course.  #notashamed

That Elephant Garlic is a beast!

Pike Place goods

I remembered a gorgeous photo Food52 had recently posted of an entire head of cauliflower roasted so I decided to try my hand at it. I followed this recipe posted by an editor at Food52 that was created by Chef Alon Shaya and it turned out pretty darn amazing, if I do say so myself.

Crunchy on the outside while soft and flavorful inside. The bottom pieces that were in contact with the pan were uber crunchy, and hence were my favorite part.

Roasted Cauliflower

  • 1 head cauliflower, whole, stem trimmed and leaves removed
  • 2 1/2cups dry white wine
  • 1/3cup olive oil plus more for serving
  • 1/4cup kosher salt
  • 3tablespoons fresh lemon juice
  • 2tablespoons unsalted butter
  • 1tablespoon crushed red pepper flakes (or to taste)
  • 1tablespoon sugar
  • 1bay leaf
  • Coarse sea salt (for serving)
  1. Heat oven to 475° F. Bring wine, oil, salt, lemon juice, butter, red pepper flakes, sugar, bay leaf, and 8 cups water to a boil in a large pot.
  2. Carefully lower in cauliflower, reduce heat, and simmer, turning occasionally, until a knife easily inserts into center, 15 to 20 minutes.
  3. Using 2 slotted spoons or a mesh strainer or spider, transfer cauliflower to a rimmed baking sheet or roasting pan, draining well.
  4. Roast, rotating pan halfway through, until brown all over, 30 to 40 minutes.
  5. Transfer cauliflower to a plate. Drizzle with oil; sprinkle with sea salt. Serve with whipped goat cheese (recipe below).

 

I didn’t have a bay leaf so I used a few sprigs of fresh rosemary in the broth instead. The recipe called for a funky cheese sauce to pair with the cauliflower, but their suggestion sounded a bit too rich for my taste.  I just mixed up some goat cheese and ricotta I had on hand with a drizzle of olive oil, salt and black pepper.

It was a creamily perfect pairing for the hearty, crunchy cauliflower. Slice off a hunk and spread a healthy helping of the cheese sauce on top to enjoy at its fullest.

 

I’m planning on trying these other cauliflower recipes from Food52 soon: Cauliflower Steaks  and Roasted Cauliflower with Bread Crumbs.

Leave a Reply

