The Bee’s Knees

Bees-Knees-Cocktail

 

I used to hate the taste of alcohol. Growing up it wasn’t around much and us kids would stare in shock when our parents had a glass of wine, which happened about once a year.

After I turned 21 and tried a few drinks, I’m deeply ashamed to say that my drink of choice for a while was a Smirnoff Ice : Cranberry Lime Splash. Horrifying I know. I said I was deeply ashamed ok!?

To get his girlfriend to appreciate the nuances of a good drink, and because I was probably embarrassing to be around holding this red monstrosity, Brandon started making some super citrusy cocktails for me to try. One of my favorites was a Bee’s Knees. This is a prohibition era drink, like most great cocktails are. Extremely simple, it’s comprised of gin, lemon and honey syrup. To make a batch of honey syrup, mix up equal parts honey and boiling water. It will keep in the fridge for a few weeks. My favorite gin to use is Death’s Door, but a much cheaper alternative is New Amsterdam. In an ice-cold fancy glass, garnished with a lemon twist, this cocktail will totally give you street cred. At least more than a Smirnoff Ice would.

 

 

Bee’s Knees

2 shots of gin

1/2 shot of lemon juice

1/2 shot honey syrup

 

Combine all ingredients in a shaker filled with ice.

Shake vigorously for about 15 -20 seconds.

Strain into a chilled coupe glass and garnish with a lemon twist.

Leave a Reply

